Results 1 to 9 of 9
Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By SRNewb
  • 1 Post By Sic4531
  • 2 Post By Taborcarn
  • 1 Post By SRNewb
  • 1 Post By UAcowboy

Thread: Micro Touch One review

  1. #1
    Senior Member SRNewb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    No. Va, USA
    Posts
    753
    Thanked: 114

    Default Micro Touch One review

    My shave review of the micro touch one, a TTO that a lot of new wetshavers have started out with.

    Mike

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to SRNewb For This Useful Post:

    Hirlau (07-08-2014)

  3. #2
    Livin the dream!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Lebanon MO
    Posts
    16
    Thanked: 2

    Default

    I got one for Father's Day this year, it does it's job very well. It's a no frills razor and with pawn stars backing it it's getting more people interested in wet shaving. Mine came with a stand and 10 blades the blades it came with are better than the CVS brand double edge blades, as always YMMV.

  4. #3
    Member Sic4531's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    45
    Thanked: 5

    Default

    For the money I've recommended them. For a a tiny little more I recommended others at the same time. Generally if someone is interested but serious I'll suggest spending the extra six bucks and getting a Parker super heavyweight 91r.
    SRNewb likes this.
    "Try something the old way every once in a while. The only reason you are on this planet is because someone struggled and strived to do something you take for granted."

  5. #4
    Senior Member SRNewb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    No. Va, USA
    Posts
    753
    Thanked: 114

    Default

    I agree. I like them because they are right there in Walmart. I ran across a guy and his son in Walmart who were obviously looking to start the boy out shaving. I spoke to them about using a DE instead of the carts. The sticking point for the Dad was having to go online, order and wait for it. A couple of months later, the MT1s showed up in Walmart. Next time I can point them to a DE right there in the store. No muss, no fuss.
    Mike

  6. #5
    Member Taborcarn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    68
    Thanked: 6

    Default

    Nice review Mike. I've never used this one but I've got no problem with it. Anything that brings more general attention to wet shaving is a good thing in my book.
    SpikedLemon and SRNewb like this.

  7. #6
    Senior Member Wayne1963's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,160
    Thanked: 158

    Default

    I don't own a Micro Touch razor, but I do see a problem with their marketing. A lot, if not most of the guys that try one of these, isn't going to know anything about wet shaving. Face prep, proper angle and pressure, all of that will be foreign to them. Most of them will likely use shave cream from a can, and have a few miserable shaves, and give up and go back to their previous way of shaving. I see the possibility that the Micro Touch will turn off potential wet shavers. I tried wet shaving back in the 80s, with disastrous results, as I had no information how to properly do so.

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    93
    Thanked: 8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wayne1963 View Post
    I don't own a Micro Touch razor, but I do see a problem with their marketing. A lot, if not most of the guys that try one of these, isn't going to know anything about wet shaving. Face prep, proper angle and pressure, all of that will be foreign to them. Most of them will likely use shave cream from a can, and have a few miserable shaves, and give up and go back to their previous way of shaving. I see the possibility that the Micro Touch will turn off potential wet shavers. I tried wet shaving back in the 80s, with disastrous results, as I had no information how to properly do so.
    Yes but they may be getting miserable shaves already. The few that do keep up will likely be disappointed with the availability of blades at retailers... forcing them to look online (which is a step in the right direction).

    While stuffing a VdH kit right next to it is in the right direction but how else do people learn quickly but to ask for help? That's what this, and may other, forum is for. The more we talk about it: the more likely people will find the resources to answer their questions.

  9. #8
    Senior Member SRNewb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    No. Va, USA
    Posts
    753
    Thanked: 114

    Default

    Walmart or most any other big chain retailer not focused on shaving could as easily sell Mule and it would still be the same thing. None of them are going to shepherd anybody through the wetshaving process. IMHO that's not a good enough reason to not offer a DE if there's any kind of demand for one.
    And FWIW, I started out in the 70s with a DE and a can of Barbasol. My Mom and Dad divorced when I was 9. My mom handed me the razor, a tuck of blades and a can of foam when the time came, and said, "Go shave". At 13 or 14 years old, I figured it out. The forums make wetshaving seem like a great, big mysterious thing, but it's really not that hard. I'd be willing to bet a lot of guys started out like that, and did just fine. More guys than not who buy that razor will do so as well, I think. MHO.

    Quote Originally Posted by Wayne1963 View Post
    I don't own a Micro Touch razor, but I do see a problem with their marketing. A lot, if not most of the guys that try one of these, isn't going to know anything about wet shaving. Face prep, proper angle and pressure, all of that will be foreign to them. Most of them will likely use shave cream from a can, and have a few miserable shaves, and give up and go back to their previous way of shaving. I see the possibility that the Micro Touch will turn off potential wet shavers. I tried wet shaving back in the 80s, with disastrous results, as I had no information how to properly do so.
    medic likes this.
    Mike

  10. #9
    Senior Member UAcowboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Corona De Tucson/Tucson, AZ Area
    Posts
    270
    Thanked: 32

    Default

    I picked one up while i was in Denver for work and left all my gear at home. found it at a Walgreens and grabbed a VDH kit. It is my first and only DE but i seems to do the job just fine. My wife even picked it up a few weeks ago and didn't dislike it.
    SRNewb likes this.
    *Insert deep thought/profound statement here*

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •