Results 1 to 10 of 10
Like Tree17Likes
  • 8 Post By BobH
  • 1 Post By Obie
  • 1 Post By Lutebro
  • 1 Post By Obie
  • 4 Post By Boaz
  • 1 Post By JimmyHAD
  • 1 Post By JimmyHAD

Thread: Shave review 1948-50 Gillette Aristocrat

  1. #1
    Senior Member blabbermouth
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    16,007
    Thanked: 3010

    Default Shave review 1948-50 Gillette Aristocrat

    For those interested, did my first shave with her this morning. A 4 pass shave with a new feather blade installed and a light touch. What a nice close comfortable irritation free shave, no complaints whatsoever. Easy to find and keep the right angle with this one. Physically it balances well for me. The handle is grippy. To me it feels like it has the right amount of aggression to shave easily and close without keeping you on your toes like a Muhle R41 or Gillette Fat Boy @ 9 with a feather blade. It might not shave quite as close by a tad as those other two but it is more of a pleasure to use. I think it would be an excellent daily driver. I would not hesitate to pick one up if you can find one at a good price. They are not hard on the eyes either.


    Bob
    Life is a terminal illness in the end

  2. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to BobH For This Useful Post:

    Boaz (01-15-2015), Hirlau (01-15-2015), Leatherstockiings (01-15-2015)

  3. #2
    The Assyrian Obie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    10,194
    Thanked: 2729

    Default

    Bob,

    Right you are about the Aristocrat; it is a sweet shaver. I have two Aristocrats from the same period, in superb shape, and am saving both for my grandsons. The Aristocrat is not only a looker, but it is well made, with the perfect balance and grip in the hand. I use it with Super Iridium or Feather blades. Indeed, pure pleasure. Thanks for your thoughts.
    BobH likes this.

  4. #3
    Senior Member blabbermouth
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    16,007
    Thanked: 3010

    Default

    Thanks Obie, always nice to know I am not the only one with that impression of the Aristocrat. Now the hunt is on for a British Aristocrat to see how the two stack up.

    Bob
    Life is a terminal illness in the end

  5. #4
    Member Lutebro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    62
    Thanked: 6

    Default

    I've had both the british and the US and I found the build on the british to be a little better and more polished. Both shaved equally well and nearly the same.
    BobH likes this.

  6. #5
    The Assyrian Obie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    10,194
    Thanked: 2729

    Default

    Bob,
    Both the American and the British versions of the Aristocrat are remarkable razors. Good stuff.
    BobH likes this.

  7. #6
    Member Boaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Renfrew, Scotland UK
    Posts
    55
    Thanked: 8

    Default

    I fully agree, I just received my 46-47 Crat this week and have pressed it into service. What a great shave and a quite stunning Razor to boot. Glad to hear how they work out for others.

    Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1421340374.496824.jpg
Views: 774
Size:  36.2 KB

  8. #7
    Senior Member blabbermouth JimmyHAD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    32,564
    Thanked: 11039

    Default

    Thanks for the review Bob. They live up to their name, Aristocrats. I have two from the post WWII era. One with the hook to pull the blade from the dispenser, and the other the earlier model without the hook. I also have an open comb 1930s Aristocrat which IIRC was their first TTO. All of them are just delightful shavers.
    BobH likes this.
    Be careful how you treat people on your way up, you may meet them again on your way back down.

  9. #8
    Senior Member blabbermouth
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    16,007
    Thanked: 3010

    Default

    Ah yes, I can see where collecting Gillette Aristocrats could become addicting. The OC Aristocrat sounds inviting too.

    Bob
    Life is a terminal illness in the end

  10. #9
    Senior Member blabbermouth JimmyHAD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    32,564
    Thanked: 11039

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BobH View Post
    Ah yes, I can see where collecting Gillette Aristocrats could become addicting. The OC Aristocrat sounds inviting too.

    Bob
    It is a mild shaver AFAIC. Nice though. I had a mint copy and a beat up one. I sold the mint one, because I couldn't bring myself to get it wet, and kept the beat up one. It still has charm, and it works.
    BobH likes this.
    Be careful how you treat people on your way up, you may meet them again on your way back down.

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2,169
    Thanked: 220

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Boaz View Post

    Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1421340374.496824.jpg
Views: 774
Size:  36.2 KB
    That's a nice example you have there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •