Results 1 to 9 of 9
Like Tree22Likes
  • 5 Post By Butzy
  • 1 Post By BobH
  • 2 Post By thebigspendur
  • 5 Post By Butzy
  • 5 Post By markbignosekelly
  • 2 Post By Speedster
  • 1 Post By Theoman
  • 1 Post By JP5

Thread: Gillette Heated Razor prototype review

  1. #1
    Senior Member Butzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Blue Springs, MO
    Posts
    532
    Thanked: 113

    Default Gillette Heated Razor prototype review

    I haven't posted in some time, got a new job and life got busy. But I wanted to share something I got recently that is worth taking a look at even though it's not a single edged razor.
    For many of us, we travel, and that often means having to use a cartridge razor if you don't want to go through the hassle of checking your blade(s) and potentially losing it. So typically I travel with a gillette fusion 5-blade razor just because my mum got me one when i was 18 and it still works (typical Gillette, right?)
    However, last year I ran across a Gillette project that they were doing to create a "heated" cartridge razor and I was intrigued. So I signed up to get one and some extra cartridges when they were taking orders (they didn't take many). Well, I got mine and shaved with it for the first time today and I have to say I was impressed. They were asking for feedback so I tried to shave as a normal person does with some hot water and shaving cream. I used Cremo because, well, it's cremo and always provides a nice quick shave if you aren't wanting to use a brush. Then I turned the razor on and shaved with it and it was very pleasant! the warming bar at the bottom of the razor face really did a good job of providing heat that made it feel like a hot lather shave almost. I try not to compare to traditional shaving because it's apples and oranges, but the experience made me look at cartridge razors in a whole new light! The blades were great and left no stray hairs or irritation and I think the heat from the razor actually prepped the hairs or skin so that the shave was very close and remained hydrated. Basically everything you get from a traditional shave, but within 5 seconds of walking into your bathroom.
    Name:  IMG_6425.jpg
Views: 302
Size:  31.5 KBName:  IMG_6426.jpg
Views: 329
Size:  23.3 KB
    Now, I know I'm probably going to catch some flack for saying I use/used a cartridge razor and enjoyed it but if you're like me and have to use one now and then (or weekly like me), then definitely do some looking around down the road to find yourself one of these! They are still in prototype stage but I am sure they'll bring them to market based on the experience I had.
    One other thing of note is that Gillette's team doing the work and their customer service has been absolutely exceptional in every way. It's crazy to think that a company that brought us the fatboy and ol' red can still produce such quality products today with great customer service but they sure do. I've been a gillette fan ever since getting my first razor, and especially since collecting their vintage safety razors - this experience has been no different. So impressed that I thought I needed to share with you all! Hope you found this at least a little insightful if you're one of the ones that has to use cartridges from time to time (or all the time!)


    Tom
    One man's opinion...

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Butzy For This Useful Post:

    Theoman (03-07-2019)

  3. #2
    Senior Member blabbermouth
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    14,572
    Thanked: 2727

    Default

    Thanks for the update.

    Bob
    Butzy likes this.
    Life is a terminal illness in the end

  4. #3
    The Hurdy Gurdy Man thebigspendur's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    29,329
    Thanked: 4754
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    You be a brave man bringing that contraption to this site. The thought of any Gillette Cart Razor (except the old vintage DE's) is like waiving a red flag at a bull in these parts.

    However thanks for your review. You never know, someone may stumble on it and decide to try it.
    alex1921 and Butzy like this.
    No matter how many men you kill you can't kill your successor-Emperor Nero

  5. #4
    Senior Member Butzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Blue Springs, MO
    Posts
    532
    Thanked: 113

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thebigspendur View Post
    You be a brave man bringing that contraption to this site.
    Oh trust me, I am aware. I just felt I should because the shave itself is reminiscent of a traditional shave.
    It was really a post for those who (like me) have to use the carts from time to time and still haven't found a good option.

    I am, however, surprised that I haven't been tarred and feathered or stoned yet.
    One man's opinion...

  6. #5
    Senior Member markbignosekelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Egham, a little town just outside London.
    Posts
    1,843
    Thanked: 749
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    In 200 years time there'll be forums dedicated to those and will go for fortune.
    Good investment.

  7. #6
    Senior Member blabbermouth Speedster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Spokane WA
    Posts
    2,722
    Thanked: 674

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Butzy View Post
    Oh trust me, I am aware. I just felt I should because the shave itself is reminiscent of a traditional shave.
    It was really a post for those who (like me) have to use the carts from time to time and still haven't found a good option.

    I am, however, surprised that I haven't been tarred and feathered or stoned yet.
    I wouldn't rule out being tarred and feathered yet, but the ancient as well as modern forms of getting stoned could bring serious charges in MO. Keep a moderate alert level to be safe.

    alex1921 and Butzy like this.
    --Mark

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Vienna Austria
    Posts
    334
    Thanked: 98

    Default

    This particular razor was a subject of a lot of convos some time back. Glad to see someone followed up with an opinion. Fair review but still not for me I think.
    Butzy likes this.

  9. #8
    JP5
    JP5 is offline
    Senior Member blabbermouth JP5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Duluth, GA - Atlanta OTP North
    Posts
    2,170
    Thanked: 272
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Hey Butzy! Wondered what happened to you. Glad to hear you're doing well. Interesting razor.
    Quote Originally Posted by markbignosekelly View Post
    In 200 years time there'll be forums dedicated to those and will go for fortune.
    Good investment.
    Along with the Mach 3 Power vibrating razor.
    Butzy likes this.
    - Joshua

  10. #9
    Senior Member Butzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Blue Springs, MO
    Posts
    532
    Thanked: 113

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JP5 View Post
    Hey Butzy! Wondered what happened to you. Glad to hear you're doing well. Interesting razor.
    Yeah, I'm still around - albeit a lot less frequently than before I had this new job and a youngster running around!
    Glad to see you're still active as well. Hope all is well in your parts. Same email if you ever want to connect or are looking for any more of those hard to find rocks
    One man's opinion...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •