Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Sharpest Apple In The Barrel DevilBlade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    61
    Thanked: 12

    Default Deluxe Vintage Safety Razor...any opinions?

    Anyone have an opinion on the "Deluxe Vintage Safety Razor" sold on classicshaving.com? I just ordered one yesterday and have been wondering what people's opinions regarding this razor are. In the pics of it on their website, it looks like a quality razor, and kind of like a Merkur 33c. Since it didn't come with blades I ordered Feathers to go with it.

    So, any opinions, gentlemen?

  2. #2
    Member methos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    55
    Thanked: 8

    Default

    I haven't used the razors myself. However, the head of the razor looks like a head of Edwin Jagger DE 89. If I am correct about the head of the razor, you should get fairly good shaves from it. The EJ DE89 is a three piece razor and so is this razor.
    Good Luck.
    Please let us know what you thought of the razor once you used it.

  3. #3
    Indisposed
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    6,038
    Thanked: 1193

    Default

    Who knows, it may be a fine razor, but personally I would have spent a few bucks more and went for a Merkur who have a proven track record for making quality DE's.

    I don't want to get you down, and the Deluxe may be a good shaver. Let us know how it goes when it arrives.

  4. #4
    Member methos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    55
    Thanked: 8

    Default

    You are right, if I was starting again, I would go for a Merkur HD or a feather popular (plastic) razor. However, my opinion is based on the pictures he posted.
    DevilBlade is this your First DE razor? If this is your first DE razor and you haven't tried other blades, do not use the feathers blades. They are ninja sharp. I would recommend at least 2-3 months of experience with DE razors before trying feathers blades.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Posts
    1,376
    Thanked: 273

    Default

    I started with Feather blades. It only took a few shaves before I understood that "no pressure" really meant "NO PRESSURE AT ALL".

    You climb the learning curve really quickly if your face is burning.

    Charles

    PS -- Though I had no DE experience, I was shaving with a straight razor when I started with the Feathers. If my only experience had been with cartridges, those blades would have been a real shock.

  6. #6
    Sharpest Apple In The Barrel DevilBlade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    61
    Thanked: 12

    Default

    Hi everyone. Thank you for your replies and your advice. To answer your question, methos: yes, this one is my first DE. I researched a bit online before I received it, and found out that it is a Parker 91R (which was confirmed when I got it). I had read mixed reviews of Parkers online, mostly a few years old, with the negatives focused on the quality of the razor. I was a little worried about what I would receive. The one I received, while not perfect, and not the most beautiful design, is fair quality. The chrome finish is near perfect (the only flaw is on the chrome on the threads), and there are some flaws in the underlying metal which show through on the top piece, along the edges which run parallel to the blade edges and on the ends on the underside. None affect functionality and are only visible upon close inspection. And the blade gap is even on both sides. So all in all, not a bad razor.

    So Saturday, the day I got it, I loaded it up with a Feather blade and gave it a try. I thought I knew what "no pressure" meant. I was in so much pain after that first shave with it. I think I bled from more places at once from that shave than from any 10 shaves with my straight razors. I had to dig out the styptic pencil, which I haven't had to use in a long time. The razor burn was so bad that it hurt to smile, I kid you not. The second day, I used the same blade and things were a little better, but still not pleasant. Third shave with the same blade was much better. And the fourth was the best shave I've had in a long time, though I had to retire that particular blade.

    In the process, I learned how little pressure "no pressure" really means. I learned that witch hazel can be useful (never used it before two days ago). Bottom line, the Parker 91R is a good razor capable of a BBS shave. I'd say it's worth what I invested in it.

    Of course, in reading about this razor, I came across many recomendations for Merkurs and the EJ DE89, which have made their way onto my wishlist.

  7. #7
    Senior Member otherstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Porter, TX
    Posts
    235
    Thanked: 20

    Default

    Sounds like a winner! You have stated perfectly why I don't use Feather blades: those first few shaves tear me up too bad. Have you thought about trying any other blades? Blade choice coupled with razor selection are the most individual choices in DE shaving since what works for one might not work for another. (YMMV--your mileage may vary)

  8. #8
    Member methos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    55
    Thanked: 8

    Default

    DevilBlade,
    I am sorry that you did not have a good experience with your first DE shave. I think that your problem was the feather blades. The feather blades are like shaving with a Japanese straight as your first straight razor. These blades require a lot of respect. I wish you had ordered a sample pack of blades and found out what blades work best with your face. I would still recommend that you get a sample pack of blades.
    I recommend that you start with a neutral blades and then try other blades. Find the blades you like. Once you find the blade you like. While you are trying the blades, keep working on "No Pressure" and the angle of the razor. If you decide to get another DE razor, please remember all DE razors have a slightly different angle at which they work best. This angle is between 30 degrees and 45 degrees.
    Good Luck

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Posts
    1,376
    Thanked: 273

    Default

    In the process, I learned how little pressure "no pressure" really means.
    You're not the first person with this experience (I beat you to it!), and you won't be the last.

    The _nice_ thing about Feather blades is that, once you understand how to use them, they provide a reliable, close, comfortable series of shaves.

    Charles

    PS -- I just remembered an old aphorism (I've probably mangled it):

    "Man learns only through pain. A fool learns only through his own pain; a wise man also learns from the pain of others."

    And that's why we have this Forum.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •