Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 31 to 39 of 39
Like Tree17Likes

Thread: Review section

  1. #31
    At this point in time... gssixgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Idaho Redoubt
    Posts
    26,446
    Thanked: 13109
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 10Pups View Post
    II am not sure what the reviews looked like at SRP but from Glen's post I would say we aren't missing much.
    We had both ends of the spectrum,, The problem was a balance point between Elitist spouting and Useless drivel, and who was going to make the decision between the two

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to gssixgun For This Useful Post:

    Airportcopper (05-09-2013)

  3. #32
    There is no charge for Awesomeness Jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Maleny, Australia
    Posts
    7,972
    Thanked: 1587
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    Like any review you read, in the end the onus is on you as the consumer of the review to use your judgement and critical thinking skills.

    Of course there are things that can be put in place to counter shilling reviews, encourage evidence--based reviewing, encouraging reviewers to back up their statements and provide justification of what they say, but in the end a review is simply an opinion. And when you read an opinion you, as the reader, should be reading it critically and with your own needs and wants in mind.

    James.
    <This signature intentionally left blank>

  4. #33
    (John Ayers in SRP Facebook Group) CaliforniaCajun's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Lafayette, LA
    Posts
    1,542
    Thanked: 270

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 10Pups View Post
    I have found many tips and reviews within the threads on products as I read. I found a soap and a cream that I like very much because members swore by them. When it comes to reviews you have to consider the source in order to gain more perspective in my opinion. I am not sure what the reviews looked like at SRP but from Glen's post I would say we aren't missing much. Maybe why it's dead. If it was so great where is the outcry and poll trying to bring it back ?
    Here is another point >> If you want to know what people here think about something just post a thread and ask. That seems simple enough to me.
    A product needs more than one opinion to properly review. If I tell you that I like the clean, soap scent of Arko and someone replies by saying it smells to him like a urinal cake, we need more replies to get a concensus opinion. So one review is useless.

    Earlier in this thread I asked about what "notes" meant in evaluating fragrances. I struggled with that term for three years and for some reason it just occurred to me today to ask. Reviews critiqued fragrances without all the jargon.

    I'm not saying "just do it" because I don't need them any more. But at one time they were helpful for me and if the moderators think it would be useful in nurturing new members, I will help write reviews.

    Straight razor shaver and loving it!
    40-year survivor of electric and multiblade razors

  5. #34
    Senior Member blabbermouth JimmyHAD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    32,564
    Thanked: 11039

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gssixgun View Post
    We had both ends of the spectrum,, The problem was a balance point between Elitist spouting and Useless drivel, and who was going to make the decision between the two
    If that dichotomy is a problem with reviews I think it can be said that it is a problem with forum posts in general. What James says in the quote below is also my thinking. Throwing the baby out with the bathwater isn't the best solution but that is what seems to have been done.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jimbo View Post
    Like any review you read, in the end the onus is on you as the consumer of the review to use your judgement and critical thinking skills.

    Of course there are things that can be put in place to counter shilling reviews, encourage evidence--based reviewing, encouraging reviewers to back up their statements and provide justification of what they say, but in the end a review is simply an opinion. And when you read an opinion you, as the reader, should be reading it critically and with your own needs and wants in mind.

    James.

  6. #35
    The original Skolor and Gentileman. gugi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    17,371
    Thanked: 3873
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CaliforniaCajun View Post
    I'm not saying "just do it" because I don't need them any more. But at one time they were helpful for me and if the moderators think it would be useful in nurturing new members, I will help write reviews.
    I obviously think that the reviews could be very helpful, otherwise I wouldn't have spent far more time than I should have to keep them going for as long as I did.

    So, I'm definitely going to get them going again (actually Jimbo would do the heavy lifting and I'll help with what I can). All it took was your willingness to give back to the community - that is the first time in 2 years that somebody says this. In the past all I ever got from senior members was eagerness to make rules for and ideas how to police a review system, but never expressing a desire to write reviews.

  7. #36
    This is not my actual head. HNSB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Middle of nowhere, Minnesota
    Posts
    4,622
    Thanked: 1371
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Sounds like a success story to me.

    Strange women lying in ponds distributing swords is no basis for a system of government.

  8. #37
    Senior Member blabbermouth JimmyHAD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    32,564
    Thanked: 11039

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HNSB View Post
    Sounds like a success story to me.
    There used to be another guy around here of that opinion ..... Ain't seen him lately ....

  9. #38
    Pasted Man Castel33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,283
    Thanked: 269

    Default

    If you do get it back up and running gugi give me a pm to. I can do a couple of reviews a year till I run out of stuff to review.
    gugi likes this.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Castel33 For This Useful Post:

    gugi (05-10-2013)

  11. #39
    Never a dull moment hoglahoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    8,918
    Thanked: 1498
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    If you build it they will come. Does anyone want to build it and do we want them to come?
    Find me on SRP's official chat in ##srp on Freenode. Link is at top of SRP's homepage

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •