Results 1 to 8 of 8
Like Tree14Likes
  • 5 Post By earcutter
  • 3 Post By earcutter
  • 1 Post By RayClem
  • 2 Post By evnpar
  • 1 Post By earcutter
  • 1 Post By OCDshaver
  • 1 Post By earcutter

Thread: Oleo’s “Bonaire” Review

  1. #1
    lobeless earcutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    4,864
    Thanked: 762

    Default Oleo’s “Bonaire” Review


    OMG! It’s blue!

    Name:  115F8638-F6AD-4ABB-8F95-3F752D4F7634.jpg
Views: 128
Size:  34.8 KB

    Blue is good. It’s a beautiful shade that’ll remind me of a beautiful Bonaire beach no doubt, in spite of the fact that when I think of Bonaire, I always think pink! It’s the flamingos there. The thousands of flamingos. You only need to see it once really for it to sear into your mind. And for the association to stick.

    Anyway, that’s all good, but let’s talk about the Soap. We all know that Oleo’s ingredients are pretty good. This duck fat soap is no different!

    Canard Base: Stearic Acid, Water, Kokum Butter, Potassium Hydroxide, Palm Kernel Oil, Duck Fat, Sodium Hydroxide, Castor Oil, Glycerin, Jojoba Oil & Sodium Lactate

    But it was me looking at the scent profile of this soap that just got me stoked! I buckled when I read hibiscus and bought it! I didn’t need it... I just got caught up in the scent profile and nostalgia.

    Scent notes: Bergamot, Lime, Mandarin, Coconut toddy, Copra, Jasmine, Hibiscus, Ylang ylang, Ginger, Tonkin musk, White rum, Sugar cane


    Speaking of Nostalgia though, it’s a funny thing really. Growing up in the “A.B.C.” Islands, just reading the name Bonaire (good air) made me want it. But to complicate it even more, everything in the scent profile calls to the best memories accociated with the region. Crazy.

    I really expected a sweet/fruity scent, but when I opened it, I got ta sweet(ish) mandarin with maybe a little salt? I’m not sure I got the florals as much as... well, i’ll reserve scent description until I shave with it, I have to! But if you’re from the region and know of Curaçao’s “Air Conditioner in a Bottle” Alcolado Glacial ... just saying.

    I’m pretty excited really, but I’ll show some restraint and review it after shaving with it. Everything changes when you add water!

    Bet you wish you had some lol!




  2. #2
    lobeless earcutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    4,864
    Thanked: 762

    Default

    I did it! I shaved with it today!! And all drive into work I was wondering how to break it to you all, that I wasn't all that impressed. I mean yea, I used a new blade on my DE as I always do to test, but the Alum still burned a little too much afterward. Moreover, the scent, a LOVELY mandarin/salt/sugar mix, was really light in the soap. Which in my other Oleo soaps is the same, but the splash and the balm layer like champs and bring out every scent the soap ever hid - in spades!! But not so much with the Bonaire.

    And then I touched my face!

    HOLY COW.

    My face felt awesome! I got an insanely close shave - the kind only a great lather can provide. It allows me to forgive the little burn I got. When you get this close...

    But maybe as importantly, my skin feels like my daughters butt did when she was 6 months old! Dang!! Again, that only comes from a series of quality products. Even now, writing this two hours later, my face feels great! This is the Oleo I've come to know and love.

    Which brings me to scent. Man - I just have to admit that scent is a huge factor for me. I was about to write a bad review with no regard to all the other probably more important facets of the product. That'd been rookie. I like this soap. I wish the awesome scent were more pronounced!f Man do I ever. If it was, I'd be pure gold.

    I'll be doing my week long review so stand by. My next shave will be a straight razor shave. I'm sure it'll be great. And who knows, maybe my nose is broken today - which is a distinct possibility.

    Until then... shave well my friends.
    David

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    1,054
    Thanked: 282

    Default

    I like Oleo Soapworks. The duck fat Canard base works well for me. It is not the "best" soap base in my den, but it is not far behind, either. Post shave moisturizing and conditioning is wonderful, as has been noted.

    I do tend to like Vida's scents. I tend to do better with complex scent accords that are mid-strong. My face is sensitive to some ingredients like lime, grapefruit, clove, etc. so simple scents containing these ingredients can be a problem. I have not tried Bonaire as lime is one of the primary scent notes. However, I do not have an issue with bergamot or mandarin, so I might be able to use this complex scent. I already have six other tubs of Oleo and one sample tub, so I don't really need to add more of Vida's soaps to my collection.
    earcutter likes this.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to RayClem For This Useful Post:

    earcutter (10-12-2018)

  5. #4
    lobeless earcutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    4,864
    Thanked: 762

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RayClem View Post
    I like Oleo Soapworks. The duck fat Canard base works well for me. It is not the "best" soap base in my den, but it is not far behind, either. Post shave moisturizing and conditioning is wonderful, as has been noted.

    I do tend to like Vida's scents. I tend to do better with complex scent accords that are mid-strong. My face is sensitive to some ingredients like lime, grapefruit, clove, etc. so simple scents containing these ingredients can be a problem. I have not tried Bonaire as lime is one of the primary scent notes. However, I do not have an issue with bergamot or mandarin, so I might be able to use this complex scent. I already have six other tubs of Oleo and one sample tub, so I don't really need to add more of Vida's soaps to my collection.
    That's hilarious - up until I got to the emboldened line I was thinking I should send you a sample lol! Yea, you're good !!

    The Canard base works well for me as well, unless it's scented with coco it seems. The last Oleo soap I got was a coco scented soap and it was seriously uncomfortable for me. It burned. You live and you learn eh. I gave that one away. Her Rougere though... oh how lovely a soap that is. Nom, nom.
    David

  6. #5
    Senior Member blabbermouth evnpar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    3,281
    Thanked: 651

    Default

    I purchased quite a few of Vida's scents when they were still vegan, and have 3 - 4 of her soaps in the canard base. I really can't tell much difference between the two. If I did, I'll go back and repurchase a few of my favorites in the canard base. I do enjoy her soaps and scents. I find them solid performers, although not at the same level as my Tier 3 soaps, but I'll continue to use them as I love many of her scents. Bonaire's scent is light, but very pleasant, and I make up for it with a few sprays of Creed Virgin Island Water. Now that fall is in the air, I've started using Old Orchard Cider again, one of my favorite seasonal scents. Irving Park is probably my favorite because it's a take on YSL Rive Gauche, my favorite fougère EdT.
    Richard

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to evnpar For This Useful Post:

    earcutter (10-12-2018)

  8. #6
    lobeless earcutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    4,864
    Thanked: 762

    Default

    I used the Bonaire again today with my straight. The soap washes off easily with a quick rinse which I like.

    I shaved fast today trying to hurry in order to get the mutt to the vet in time, so there was no flattering the product. I got a little burn from the alum again today which I find really odd being the lather seems so dense, but it was there all the same. But the end result was again, fantastic.

    The best thing about today’s shave was I seemingly got more scent today. That lovely tangerine ocean mix. It might be because I knew what I was looking for - not sure, but I liked it.
    ScoutHikerDad likes this.
    David

  9. #7
    Senior Member blabbermouth OCDshaver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Chicagoland - SW suburbs
    Posts
    3,647
    Thanked: 727

    Default

    I wanted to like Oleo soaps so much because they are a local maker. But like you, lots of alum sting after the shave. You can perfume the hell out of it but it doesn’t make up for that spicy end. I find B&M to have quirky scents that can be simply weird or even off putting. But the performance keeps me coming back. I shaved with Oleo a couple times and it was the same 3ach time.
    ScoutHikerDad likes this.

  10. #8
    lobeless earcutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    4,864
    Thanked: 762

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OCDshaver View Post
    I wanted to like Oleo soaps so much because they are a local maker. But like you, lots of alum sting after the shave. You can perfume the hell out of it but it doesn’t make up for that spicy end. I find B&M to have quirky scents that can be simply weird or even off putting. But the performance keeps me coming back. I shaved with Oleo a couple times and it was the same 3ach time.
    If only wholly caw made a scent I could handle lol!
    ScoutHikerDad likes this.
    David

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •