Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Opinions on Hart Steel?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Mexico City
    Posts
    13
    Thanked: 3

    Default Opinions on Hart Steel?

    So, I started wet shaving some 2 and a half years ago and have been doing it with the Dovo Best Quality 5/8 that I bought as my starter kit. But I just decided that I'll hop on to a new, better blade.

    I'm really interested in a Hart Steel 7/8 (round point), and I just want to know if you have any opinions on them. I have really thick beard and really sensitive skin.

    Cheers.
    ledemon likes this.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to RobertoCFG For This Useful Post:

    Lelantos (01-28-2013)

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    235
    Thanked: 8

    Default

    Welcome, Roberto. Glad things have been going well for you and I fully understand your interest in expanding your shaving options. I have a Hart 7/8 and enjoy shaving with it. Two points I would make: First, the Hart wasn't quite shave ready when I got it new and had to do some finishing on a Naniwa 12K and CrOx to really get there. Second, it rusts like crazy so really requires close attention to drying after a shave and oiling the blade till you use it again. Just my experience. Enjoy!

  4. #3
    The Hurdy Gurdy Man thebigspendur's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    32,706
    Thanked: 5015
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    The Hart isn't a better blade. It's just different.
    No matter how many men you kill you can't kill your successor-Emperor Nero

  5. #4
    Shave like a pyrate! Pyrateknight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    638
    Thanked: 54

    Default

    I like my Hart. Its a 6/8 Square Tip. I think its a great shaver. It came shave ready... but not up to where I finish a blade. It keeps an edge fairly well. They do give oil with the razor. I haven't had a problem with rust as I oil like a paranoid freak but I do have a bit of stain on mine.
    Shaving with facial hair is like a golfcourse. It's a challenge of rough and fairways. You are the skilled greenskeeper of your face?

  6. #5
    Senior Member Oscar1953's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    400
    Thanked: 16

    Default

    It's a nice razor, I like mine.

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Peoria, IL
    Posts
    62
    Thanked: 6

    Default

    I started with the same razor almost a year ago now. While I will eventually own a Hart razor myself, for the same price you could polish up about a dozen rusty gems.

  8. #7
    Senior Member blabbermouth OCDshaver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Chicagoland - SW suburbs
    Posts
    3,771
    Thanked: 734

    Default

    Used my 7/8 square tip every day this past week. Exceptionally great shave lately. I find it takes about twice the effort to hone than my others. I love it. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  9. #8
    Senior Member Slamthunderide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    441
    Thanked: 85

    Default

    I am a very big fan of Hart Steel I have both 6/8 and 7/8 round and square I have never had a problem with rust and all of mine have been shave ready out of the box this is just the way I feel.

  10. #9
    Senior Member blabbermouth
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    2,697
    Thanked: 830
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Roberto, That Hart would be a nice razor. While I mostly agree w/ TBS - and I think his case is strong, you'll get to experience some attributes w/ the Hart that aren't available in off the rack blades. Its HEAVY (I like that alot). Dovo best is a good razor, but unless you get to the 6/8, the mass is not even in the same ballpark. Some of Dovos more costly blades, like the Bismark have more girth in the shank and spine - which get them in the ballpark. The grind. You can't buy that grind in any new blade that I know of. Others (also quite costly from TI or Wacker) are alot more hollow than the Hart. I call the Hart a near wedge. I've you not tried a grind that heavy, you might see if any members near you have a hard steel (not sheffield) near wedge you can try. They're quite different. Its a difference I happen to love - but not all will. 'Would be nice to have some experience w/ it before parting w/ the hard earned funds.

    Any members near Mexico City?

  11. #10
    Member dunbarw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    58
    Thanked: 5

    Default Opinions on Hart Steel?

    I have a 7/8 round Hart with Pearlex Scales. I like it a lot but it did not come as shave ready as my other razors did. But after honing it became one of my favorites. It is a Big Heavy razor and it's made in the USA. I've had it for 6 months and I haven't had any rusting issues but it does stain more easily than my other razors. I don't know if it is because it is the only polished razor I own or not. My tap water is extremely hard so I get water spots on this razor. My Hart and my Livi regrind are my favorites!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •