Results 1 to 10 of 10
Like Tree8Likes
  • 5 Post By thebigspendur
  • 1 Post By celestino
  • 1 Post By thebigspendur
  • 1 Post By Siguy

Thread: Review-Rex Ambassador Adjustable DE Razor.

  1. #1
    The Hurdy Gurdy Man thebigspendur's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    29,981
    Thanked: 4842
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Review-Rex Ambassador Adjustable DE Razor.

    They keep coming out with more and more Stainless Safety Razors. I guess there is a lot of money to be made in this. Maybe I should try. They all promise paradise. I've heard of one where the manufacturer promises a zen experience like tripping out on acid or eating a few mushrooms.

    I'll reserve my opinion on those but I will discuss the Rex Ambassador.

    It arrives in a cheap little cardboard box and you open it and the razor falls out. Most DE's I would describe as "workmanlike finish". Some are a degree or two better and of course while I've used a good number of vintage and modern razors most seem to lie in that constellation. There are exceptions of course like the OneBlade which is exceptional. I would rate the Rex as better than workmanlike but not in the same category of the Oneblade (if you get my drift). It's a two piece design. You unscrew it from the bottom and the head cap comes off and the blade goes there and you screw it back down. That system allows for the head to really clamp down on the blade.

    The handle is deeply etched in what is almost a barley-corn pattern but not quite. Once that baby is in your hand it ain't going anywhere. The handle is 3 inches. A tad shorter than most? At the top of the handle is an adjustment ring like the "Fatboy" from one to six. It's continuous, no clicks there and is too easy to turn when you don't want it to if you like to hold the razor near the top of the handle during shaving. I don't so I didn't have that issue.

    All in all it's a very solid feeling, substantial razor that holds well and inspires confidence as it is being used. Because of the design it's also simple to clean and dry after use.

    So now on to the important part. How does it shave?

    The best shaver I have now (straights excluded ) is the original R41 and that baby shave probably 98% the same as a straight quality wise. However it is way too aggressive for all but occasional use. My go to shaver these days is the Razorock Wunderbar Slant. It's mildly aggressive and probably shaves over 90% to the R41. Well hold on cause this baby set to 3.5 beat the R41 and I'll tell you, shave one side of my face with a straight and the other with this and 24 hours later there is no difference. The aggressiveness of the Rex lies in your hands as you adjust the razor. At 3.5 it's about the same as the Razorock and past that can go from R41 like to really mild. By the way I use a Feather DE Blade with all my razors and you can use any blade with this razor.

    I really can't find any negatives with this instrument. Maybe the cheap box? Maybe the handle should be half an inch longer? Probably the most valid is using click stops for the adjustment ring.

    My opinion as always.

    I highly recommend this razor for folks of all experience levels and beard types. Of course it's not cheap but compared to some of the others out there it's still reasonable.

    Now I'm waiting for the next new one where you hold on to the handle and you be beamed any where you want to go instantly.
    Last edited by thebigspendur; 07-08-2018 at 11:18 PM.
    No matter how many men you kill you can't kill your successor-Emperor Nero

  2. #2
    Senior Member blabbermouth celestino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanked: 163

    Default

    Good to hear you enjoy the Rex.

    I got one in a group buy on another forum and I am also really enjoying it, but for my head shaves.
    This is an excellent razor, but it doesn't shave me as well as my Blackbirds, for my face shaves.
    Regarding its aggressiveness, I don't find it anywhere near as aggressive as the R41, even on setting 6. However, that is a subjective view, of course.
    MichaelPz likes this.
    Laughter, Love and Shaving

    ~ Celestino ~



  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    321
    Thanked: 41

    Default

    I thought this was a Gilette Slim or Fatboy clone. Do you feel there is a difference between the new and the vintage?

  4. #4
    The Hurdy Gurdy Man thebigspendur's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    29,981
    Thanked: 4842
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    There is no comparison. I have the Fatboy and in terms of construction and materials it's light years difference. It also gives a better shave, much better. IMHO
    MichaelPz likes this.
    No matter how many men you kill you can't kill your successor-Emperor Nero

  5. #5
    Senior Member blabbermouth celestino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanked: 163

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thebigspendur View Post
    There is no comparison. I have the Fatboy and in terms of construction and materials it's light years difference. It also gives a better shave, much better. IMHO
    +1; This is one of the best modern razors and the best adjustable that I have ever tried.
    Laughter, Love and Shaving

    ~ Celestino ~



  6. #6
    MEMBER
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    VERO BEACH, FL
    Posts
    870
    Thanked: 95

    Default

    I got one at the Big East Shave meet. When Matt put it in my hands, I was really impressed with the quality and workmanship. The balance is exceptional. The razor holds the blade very tight and even. I got an exceptional shave, very smooth, close and no irritation. I like the fact the head isn't bulky so shaving in tight spaces is no problem. I shave every day with a straight and when I use the Rex, the shave is close to the straight. Also like it's stainless steel.

  7. #7
    MEMBER
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    VERO BEACH, FL
    Posts
    870
    Thanked: 95

    Default

    My only complaint with the Rex is the settings don't click in. Dial moves too easy.

  8. #8
    The Hurdy Gurdy Man thebigspendur's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    29,981
    Thanked: 4842
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    That seems to be SOP for all the new fancy adjustable razors.
    No matter how many men you kill you can't kill your successor-Emperor Nero

  9. #9
    Senior Member Siguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Black Bear, NJ
    Posts
    1,673
    Thanked: 171

    Default

    Dang, that sucker is expensive. Looks really nice though.
    32t likes this.

  10. #10
    The Hurdy Gurdy Man thebigspendur's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    29,981
    Thanked: 4842
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    They keep coming out with new models and they seem to surpass each other. it's gotten to the point where a top notch DE shaves just about as close as a straight with the right blade and technique. Improvements now are smaller and smaller.
    No matter how many men you kill you can't kill your successor-Emperor Nero

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •