Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: Opinion

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    144
    Thanked: 30

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Casulo View Post
    I had a look around and the "Merkur hefty long classic - barber pole" razor seems intriguing.

    Safety Razors & Blades

    I emailed them so I will wait until they respond to make a decision between the two.
    If the choice is between the Merkur Barberpole and the Parker I would definitely go with the Barberpole. The 38C is an excellent razor and the ones with the colored handles really look nice. If you end up not liking the Barberpole you can sell it in an instant on the B/S/T of one of the shaving forums. The same is not necessarily true of the Parker.

  2. #12
    Apprehensive & Curious Casulo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    63
    Thanked: 2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BullGoose View Post
    If the choice is between the Merkur Barberpole and the Parker I would definitely go with the Barberpole. The 38C is an excellent razor and the ones with the colored handles really look nice. If you end up not liking the Barberpole you can sell it in an instant on the B/S/T of one of the shaving forums. The same is not necessarily true of the Parker.
    Thank you, I like the handles too, and they receive such compliments how could I decline. I did e-mail the site and they confirmed it was a Parker razor, I can't understand why they didn't state that in the description.

    I think I will go with the Barber pole

  3. #13
    The Assyrian Obie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    10,206
    Thanked: 2729

    Default Opinion

    Gentlemen,

    That does look like a Merkur. If may suggest another razor to our friend: Try an Edwin Jagger 89L. That is one sweet razor, and slightly milder than the Merkur.

    Regards,

    Obie

  4. #14
    Junior Member shyrlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    15
    Thanked: 1

    Default

    Yes that is a 3 piece Parker. It is probably pretty light. Lightness is not always a desirable trai on DE razors, as the lightness of the razor causes you to put more pressure on your face than you should. Others may feel differntly and like a feather-light razor.
    Modern Parkers are not exactly known for stellar quality, Merkur, Muhle's and E. Jagger are. All of them make a three piece razor that is quite a bit nicer than the Parker, IMHO.
    Another similar but nicer choice woud be one of the older Gillette Tech razors, ( the brass ball end Tech is one of my alltime favorites). It is a well made, well balanced and aestically pleasing bit of funtional razor memorbilia. They can be found regularly in the Badger and Blade, and the Shavemyface selling forums for 15-20.00.
    One thing about three piece razors, they do require you to handle the naked blade.
    But that should be too scary for you guys.
    Sincerely,
    Mike

  5. #15
    Senior Member mbwhoosh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Hesperia,CA
    Posts
    323
    Thanked: 59

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Slartibartfast View Post
    I think the vintage Gillette Super Speeds are good starter DE razors. Very mild.
    +1 got a bbs shave first time I used it

    get to try my slim and redtip next

  6. #16
    The Assyrian Obie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    10,206
    Thanked: 2729

    Default Opinion

    Gentlemen,

    You are right about that razor being a Parker. I said it was a Merkur. My mistake. I should have known. I've had two Parkers, which I couldn't wait to get rid of. For me, they felt like tanks rumbling across my Hollywood face.

    Nowadays I have one travel Merkur, one Cyril Salter with a Merkur shave head, a Muhle 89R, and Edwin Jagger 89L along with several Edwin Jagger "Chatsworth" series. The EJ shavers are glorious.

    Regards,

    Obie

  7. #17
    Junior Member shyrlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    15
    Thanked: 1

    Default Opinion

    Obie, you are so right, The E.Jagger razors with the Muhle head are superb shaving tools. Mine is the "Barley"
    By the way, in my previous post, I meant to say that handling a bare blade should NOT be too scary.
    Thanks
    Mike

  8. #18
    The Assyrian Obie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    10,206
    Thanked: 2729

    Default Opinion

    Shylock,

    Ah, yes, the "barley." I have that, as well as the mock ivory, and the Muhle 89R. It is a pleasure to hold them, and to shave with them.

    These are beautiful razors and their quality is admirable.

    Thanks for your thoughts.

    Regards,

    Obie

  9. #19
    Junior Member shyrlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    15
    Thanked: 1

    Default

    Obie,
    What is your favorite blade to use in your Chatsworth?
    Mine used to be the Gillette Platinum "Swede", but they are history now.
    Currently, the Super Iridium is the best I've found.
    Thanks,
    Mike

  10. #20
    The Assyrian Obie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    10,206
    Thanked: 2729

    Default Opinion

    Hello, Mike,

    Thanks for your note.

    I went through a collection of blades for my double edge razors, from Red Packs to Wilkenson and Iridium. None fully satisfied me, really. The best I have found for all my razors are: Feathers and Gillette 7 O'Clock Sharp Edge (yellow packs).

    I like a sharp blade, sharp anything, really, and the sharpness of those two blades, especially the Feather, never frightened me. Now occasionally it's a competition between the Feather and the yellow pack. I think the yellows are just as sharp as the Feather, perhaps slightly less, but they seem to have the smooth edge.

    Now I use them in all all of my razors. Good stuff.

    By the way, the Chatsworth "barley" and the mock ivory are simply gorgeous. There is something to be said about beauty and quality paired together.

    Regards,

    Obie

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •