Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Opinion

  1. #1
    Apprehensive & Curious Casulo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    63
    Thanked: 2

    Default Opinion

    What do you guys think of this razor
    Safety Razors & Blades.

    The handle is what attracted me, but I can't seem to find a brand name so I am unsure whether it would be a happy purchase.

  2. #2
    I shave with a spoon on a stick. Slartibartfast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Stay away stalker!
    Posts
    4,577
    Thanked: 1262
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    It looks like the head on my merkur HD. If it is a merkur, i say it is definately good.

    Email the guys at classicshaving. I'm guessing its not junk if they are selling it.

  3. #3
    Shvaing nut jbcohen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Palanthas
    Posts
    664
    Thanked: 38

    Default

    Finally something that I can say that I know something about. I had one of those at one point, it was ok shaver. Its good as a starter shaver which is what I needed at the time. In my opinion you can get better but is pretty good.

  4. #4
    Apprehensive & Curious Casulo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    63
    Thanked: 2

    Default

    I will do, that's a good idea. i'm guessing from reading a few posts that Merkur are a quality brand ?

    Thanks man, it is intended to be a first time shaver, a gift in fact.

  5. #5
    I shave with a spoon on a stick. Slartibartfast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Stay away stalker!
    Posts
    4,577
    Thanked: 1262
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Casulo View Post
    I will do, that's a good idea. i'm guessing from reading a few posts that Merkur are a quality brand ?

    Thanks man, it is intended to be a first time shaver, a gift in fact.
    I think the vintage Gillette Super Speeds are good starter DE razors. Very mild.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Slartibartfast For This Useful Post:

    Casulo (07-06-2009)

  7. #6
    Apprehensive & Curious Casulo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    63
    Thanked: 2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jbcohen View Post
    Finally something that I can say that I know something about. I had one of those at one point, it was ok shaver. Its good as a starter shaver which is what I needed at the time. In my opinion you can get better but is pretty good.
    What would you say are the negatives to it, I can't yet see what a major difference would be between them apart from weight and head type.

  8. #7
    Steel crazy after all these years RayG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    1,410
    Thanked: 937

    Default

    Looks like a Merkur 3-piece head. Personally, that would be very good as a first DE, with any body though many like the HD for it's weight and balance. Some folks eventually look for something more aggressive. The vintage Gilettes are nice, and fun to try, but I always did have closer effortless shaves with the Merkurs.

  9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RayG For This Useful Post:

    Casulo (07-06-2009), shyrlock (07-27-2009)

  10. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    147
    Thanked: 22

    Default

    Judging by the price and the style of the handle, I'd say that razor is a Parker 91R. I've never used one, so I can't speak from direct experience, but the reviews I have read say it's good razor, similar to but more aggressive than a Merkur. Parker has also been known to have quality control issues, so buying one may be a little more of a craps-shoot than buying a Merkur or a vintage Gillette.

    The Parker I own is modelled on the Gillette Improved and it is aggressive enough to be a poor choice for a beginner. If it was me, and I could go the extra few bucks for the Merkur HD, that's what I'd do.

    goshawk

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to goshawk For This Useful Post:

    Casulo (07-06-2009)

  12. #9
    Apprehensive & Curious Casulo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    63
    Thanked: 2

    Default

    I had a look around and the "Merkur hefty long classic - barber pole" razor seems intriguing.

    Safety Razors & Blades

    I emailed them so I will wait until they respond to make a decision between the two.
    Last edited by Casulo; 07-06-2009 at 04:52 PM.

  13. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    144
    Thanked: 30

    Default

    I am almost certain that the razor in the original post is a Parker razor (not sure of the model). You can read independent reviews of the razor on Badger & Blade.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •