Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
Like Tree25Likes

Thread: Fine Accouterments American Blend Review

  1. #1
    lobeless earcutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    4,864
    Thanked: 762

    Default Fine Accouterments American Blend Review


    Time to do a new week long review of a soap. This week, it'll be the American Blend.




    Full disclosure, I was never really excited about Fine's soaps. Or Fine anything really. Basically, I read somewhere that one of Fine's splashes had a scent that was a complete knock off of Art of Saving Sandalwood, so I had to try it! It was exactly as described scent wise, and it was a great splash too - so I started collecting the splashes and pairing them to my collection.

    When I finally got to the American blend, I had an opportunity to try and pair it to a barbershop scent of my choosing, or buy the corresponding soap. I half begrudgingly decided to buy the Fine American Soap, to match the Splash.


    Now let me tell you, I love the scent! And best off, the scents layer! The soap and the splash match perfectly!

    I have no idea what your barber shop smells like, but the American really does smell like the barbershop I've conjured up in my mind without the synthetic aftertaste lol! For some reason, most barbershops I go to, use some great smelling product, but its also synthetic smelling stuff.

    So the Fine American scent is lovely and not synthetic. But it's also clean! It smells sterile. I don't know how else to put that. Its as though the scent will clean your bathroom lol!! It really is lovely.

    Scent-wise, there is no "season" associated with this for me. Spring, summer, fall, or winter, it's all good in the hood.

    Ok, now for the soaps characteristics. If you read others reviews, you'll see that men either seemingly love, or are indifferent about this soap. It was probably the indifference from some of my favorite reviewers that saw me not buy it for the longest time. But I have it now and I've shaved with it a few times!! I'll leave this section bare for now. It's definitely not going to be a horrible review.

    After tomorrows shave I'll get into those details, but I'd love to hear what you think of yours!!


    Just so you guys know, when I do these reviews, I always use my DE R41 with a new Personna blade, my Feather AC, and a straight. Over the week, as the blade dulls, we ... I get some great insights as to how effective the soap is in less favorable situations.

    Ok - until tomorrow then - Maybe Friday.


    EDIT - I know it shouldn't matter but, I kind of dig the simple packaging and I love the soaps pressed on face/logo. I know, I know... but it just adds a little.



    David

  2. #2
    Senior Member blabbermouth outback's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Akron, Ohio
    Posts
    9,763
    Thanked: 3906

    Default

    Well I'll put my two cents in....Love it.!

    Every time I go for the American blend..its gone.!

    I've Been using the Platinum, Fresh Vetiver, Snakebite, and matching aftershaves for some time now, almost a year.

    For me, its as good as Castle Forbes. Easy to lather, thick n rich, great cushion n glide. I also follow my shaves with a drop of Glycerin after a cold rinse, so if there is any tightness afterwards... I have no idea.

    So my next two will be, Orange Noir, and American Blend. Hopefully there's some left....

  3. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to outback For This Useful Post:

    Dieseld (10-04-2018), earcutter (10-03-2018), Speedster (10-04-2018)

  4. #3
    lobeless earcutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    4,864
    Thanked: 762

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by outback View Post
    Well I'll put my two cents in....Love it.!

    Every time I go for the American blend..its gone.!

    I've Been using the Platinum, Fresh Vetiver, Snakebite, and matching aftershaves for some time now, almost a year.

    For me, its as good as Castle Forbes. Easy to lather, thick n rich, great cushion n glide. I also follow my shaves with a drop of Glycerin after a cold rinse, so if there is any tightness afterwards... I have no idea.

    So my next two will be, Orange Noir, and American Blend. Hopefully there's some left....
    I've only used the American with respect to soaps, but man, let me tell you, that Orange Noir splash, is some kind of funky! Good funky! I've got Platinum in my Amazon cart now - next purchase.
    ScoutHikerDad and outback like this.
    David

  5. #4
    Senior Member blabbermouth outback's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Akron, Ohio
    Posts
    9,763
    Thanked: 3906

    Default

    Those both are a hard scent to describe. Wife hates the Platinum, until it winds down some. The Orange Noir is similar, just not as strong as the Platinum. If I use it in the morning, I can still smell the mug in the bathroom when I get home from work.
    earcutter and Dieseld like this.
    Mike

  6. #5
    lobeless earcutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    4,864
    Thanked: 762

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by outback View Post
    Those both are a hard scent to describe. Wife hates the Platinum, until it winds down some. The Orange Noir is similar, just not as strong as the Platinum. If I use it in the morning, I can still smell the mug in the bathroom when I get home from work.
    That’s impressive! Wow.
    David

  7. #6
    Senior Member blabbermouth Speedster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Spokane WA
    Posts
    2,922
    Thanked: 702

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by outback View Post
    Well I'll put my two cents in....Love it.!

    Every time I go for the American blend..its gone.!

    I've Been using the Platinum, Fresh Vetiver, Snakebite, and matching aftershaves for some time now, almost a year.

    For me, its as good as Castle Forbes. Easy to lather, thick n rich, great cushion n glide. I also follow my shaves with a drop of Glycerin after a cold rinse, so if there is any tightness afterwards... I have no idea.

    So my next two will be, Orange Noir, and American Blend. Hopefully there's some left....
    Wow, outback, you certainly have my attention. I will definitely follow this review as I would love to add another barbershop scent to my shave den.
    Last edited by Speedster; 10-04-2018 at 02:11 AM. Reason: fixed
    earcutter, outback and Dieseld like this.
    --Mark

  8. #7
    lobeless earcutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    4,864
    Thanked: 762

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedster View Post
    Wow, outback, you certainly have my attention. I will definitely follow this review as I would love to add another barbershop scent to my shave den.
    You’ve got a sample of it somewhere in your house there Mark. Just saying .
    Speedster likes this.
    David

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    322
    Thanked: 60

    Default

    Not a fan of the soap base. Nowhere near the performance of Tabac and more expensive...YMMV
    earcutter likes this.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to CrownCork For This Useful Post:

    earcutter (10-04-2018)

  11. #9
    Senior Member blabbermouth
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    15,699
    Thanked: 2961

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CrownCork View Post
    Not a fan of the soap base. Nowhere near the performance of Tabac and more expensive...YMMV
    The reverse is true on this side of the pond when buying from the usual online retailers as far as costs go. Fine is about a third cheaper from Fendrihan.ca. That still does not change the soap base or any issues with it though.

    Bob
    Speedster and earcutter like this.
    Life is a terminal illness in the end

  12. #10
    lobeless earcutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    4,864
    Thanked: 762

    Default

    UPDATE:

    So as you know, I've shaved with this stuff before, but it's been a while. Today, opening the tub, the first thing I noticed was how soft this soap is. A true croap. The scent though... no need to talk to that anymore though. That's covered. I like it.

    I used a boar brush today - that was a mistake. This soap would do way better with a nice badger. Why? Well because A., my badgers can be loaded up with more soap, and B., my badgers hold more water than my boars. But more on that later.

    So before hitting the shower, I loaded up a nice lather. I scooped all of that lather out into my mixing bowl and went to town again. Woot! I got so many soaps, I don't have to be frugal lol!

    No the truth is, my little boar doesn't eat that much, so two goes is fine. Anyway, I then took my bowl with brush inside and placed it on top of my mug of steaming hot coffee and hit the shower.

    After the shower, I put on a lovely, lovely warm lather that just hugged me on this cold morning! But it went on a little thick. I should have known. Of course, you guessed it, after a scant few passes, I noticed the soap was drying out. I added more water and re-lathered both my bowl and my face. And that's the thing about rotating - I forgot how much water this soap needs!! It needs a lot!

    Ok so that said, I finished up my quick two pass shave with my R41 and a new Personna blade. It was hurried and it seemed a little rough, it felt a little rough too, but when I got to the alum - no burn at all. I was surprised! Really surprised actually. But that's what a good soap will do right? Good job Fine.

    So that's all to say, I had a mediocre shave at best. I had a keen blade, a rushed shave and a lather that I blew, but it all went off without any pain. So yay!

    I'm going to try and hold off on shaving tomorrow and get to my straight on Saturday - but we'll see. A two pass shave new blade or not, usually means I'll HAVE to shave tomorrow.

    Until next time my friends - keep your soap hydrated!
    Last edited by earcutter; 10-04-2018 at 02:15 PM.
    outback and Dieseld like this.
    David

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •